Maemo and me

So my first reaction to finding out the maemo was linux based was the same impression that I got when I found out that OS X was unix based and the same one that Jules had in Pulp Fiction when he found out that the Wolf was being sent.

It got even better when I found out that there’s a whole wiki and support site for it.  From installing apps, to ssh’ing (oh man.  I’m a lamer.  I needed to read further down on that page), there’s a wealth of information on there.

I’ve learned about some of the repositories that I may have to deal with such as

the latest trunk builds:

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/mobile/nightly/latest-mobile-trunk/index.html

and

Tinderbox (to find which build things broke in)

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/mobile/tinderbox-builds/

to test against as well as the difference between maemo5, maemo4, QA, GTK, and some of the branching.  I can’t say I’m a pro, but it sure helped me ramp up a lot.

I’ve even learned about a bit about extensions for fennec.  There’s 2 places where fennec can have extensions.  The application path and the profile path.

About shizen008

Breaking things and getting in trouble for it since '74. Disclaimer: I am not responsible if I make your head explode reading this blog! The writings here are my own expression and not of any companies. I currently work on being a QA for B2G aka Firefox OS
This entry was posted in QMO. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

