Projects…

Yes, I am only on two main projects so to speak: Pancake and Fennec.

Within those two projects with Project P, I am working on an integration automation for BrowserID and Project P.  There’s a portion of BrowserID that I do have to keep tabs on in order for me to do my job well for Project P.  I also have to test Project P Addons, Project P iOS app, and the web app.  This is mostly done by myself.  Currently the only one that has some sort of automation is the unit tests for Project P Addons.

For Fennec, I have my own areas to test, Performance testing and my hand in Crash Kill.  Crash kill involves looking at Socorro and understanding the crashes, on top of trying to clean up the signatures and trying to reproduce crashes.  Performance testing is a bit more mundane but time consuming just the same.  I am now tasked to do video performance, and manual performance until we have automation to cover this and that we verify the automation numbers.  Amongst that within QA we triage the incoming bugs so the developers have less to triage also so that we’re aware of what’s going on within Fennec, and we also do a stand up of our areas to understand as a group where we are at in terms of testing.

The side subproject for fennec that I haven’t had time for is profiling and understanding memory and performance from that angle.  I have 12 meetings to attend a week at least (this is not including QA/BTech meetings) that take up 14 hours of my 40 hr a week schedule.  That leaves me 26 hours in my work week to do the tasks that I need to do.

 

This doesn’t include any of the fire fights that I am asked to do, and yes, I test things by request on my own spare time because I like helping out and I like testing.

About shizen008

Breaking things and getting in trouble for it since '74. Disclaimer: I am not responsible if I make your head explode reading this blog! The writings here are my own expression and not of any companies. I currently work on being a QA for B2G aka Firefox OS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

