haha!

From a previous post, I talked about one off bugs: https://shizen008.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/one-off-bugs/#respond

This is based on bugs that I have encountered or looked at in Bugzilla.  Turns out that perhaps if I had done a little more investigation, I would have found out the reasoning which is described here:

http://bend-ing.blogspot.com/2008/11/properly-handle-progress-dialog-in.html

A developer once told me that using too many try catches are bad.  It had to do with it being inefficient and also it becomes harder to debug things when everything is getting thrown and you’re not really sure what is causing the throw.

I guess in this case, it’s safe?

To give you some context, I am referring to bug 723495

About shizen008

Breaking things and getting in trouble for it since '74. Disclaimer: I am not responsible if I make your head explode reading this blog! The writings here are my own expression and not of any companies. I currently work on being a QA for B2G aka Firefox OS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to haha!

  1. shizen008 says:

    Should probably post a new one but I guess I’ll leave it as a comment here … this is from an email I just sent :
    “Basically what I do is run the litmus test case, but not always exactly as written. I might see if there’s an opportunity to turn the device orientation even though the test case might not call for it in conjunction to selecting a menu to see if I get a crash for example. In some sense, there’s a lot of timing issues. Like the one you caught with the menu button is a great example. It’s something you think about, would this step somehow mess things up in either appearance or functionality? That’s basically what I do. Kind of like playing chess. You look for possibility. That’s why I like diagrams of design (code and ui both).”

Leave a Reply

