Question on being Open…

One of the things I am grateful for in working for Mozilla is the opportunity to learn.

Recently through various channels, I’ve learned about values, trust and integrity.  (Side note: I highly recommend the book that I am currently reading : The Speed of Trust)

Values are highly important to people and the company/culture.  ( Side note: I also found that for those that throw away the very value that they are trying to protect at all cost will find themselves very miserable. )

Maybe I am dumb; I don’t understand a few things still though and I need help understanding it after even having worked 4 years at the company.  These are the top two things that still cause me to wonder:

1) How does one stay open about protecting privacy/IP and how can we protect privacy/IP and still be open?  And without being miserable?

2) How do we stay open in a fast moving environment where we’re constantly busy?  The context of this is that I had been talking to a few coworkers and when we were talking, I happened to tell them something they weren’t aware of.  The expression “oh I wish I knew that sooner” was stated.  Blogs and emails can be missed often, and in some people’s cases skipped from being read; miss a meeting and you won’t hear about it.  Asking around and trying to get the source of truth sometimes is hard and doesn’t scale, etc. etc.  Everyone has a different way of working it seems… how do you get the source of truth and maintain doing the work load of going faster?

About shizen008

Breaking things and getting in trouble for it since '74. Disclaimer: I am not responsible if I make your head explode reading this blog! The writings here are my own expression and not of any companies. I currently work on being a QA for B2G aka Firefox OS
This entry was posted in Planet, QMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

