Remember to clean your *.pyc when things go awry…

nhirata_: well that’s the screwest thing…
[11:09am] nhirata_: screwiest thing…
[11:10am] nhirata_: I think when I copied the python file the reference is somehow moved with it?  I went from working with one directory of gaia to a completely different directory of gaia
[11:11am] nhirata_:  File “/Volumes/Projects/master_gaia/tests/python/gaia-ui-tests/gaiatest/tests/functional/browser/test_browser_windows.py”, line 28, in test_browser_menu_windows
[11:11am] nhirata_:     browser.tap_menu_button()
[11:11am] nhirata_:   File “/Volumes/Projects/B2G_Flame/gaia/tests/python/gaia-ui-tests/gaiatest/apps/search/regions/browser.py”, line 45, in tap_menu_button
[11:11am] nhirata_:     self.marionette.find_element(*self._menu_button_locator).tap()
[11:12am] krupa|lunch left the chat room. (Quit: Linkinus – http://linkinus.com)
[11:13am] kraj joined the chat room.
[11:14am] nhirata_: Is there any way to clear whatever is being cached?
[11:44am] nhirata_: hrm.  I guess I am just going to have to work in that directory…
[12:06pm] AutomatedTester: nhirata_: delete the *.pyc files
[12:06pm] nhirata_: oh.
[12:06pm] nhirata_: I feel dumb now
[12:07pm] AutomatedTester: nhirata_: everyone, and I mean everyone, gets hit by this regularly
[12:07pm] AutomatedTester: even people who have been doing python for years
[12:07pm] AutomatedTester: sometimes it gets overwritten, sometimes its just cached and doesnt
[12:10pm] AaronMT: I suspect AutomatedTester has written a book about this.
[12:11pm] AutomatedTester: AaronMT: I have but apparently it’s so common that no publishing house wants it
[12:11pm] AutomatedTester: and I really want it edited before I release it
[12:12pm] nhirata_: lol
[12:12pm] smooney left the chat room. (Client exited)
[12:14pm] nhirata_: hrm.  rm -rf *.pyc doesn’t seem to work from a higher directory
[12:15pm] AutomatedTester: nhirata_: you need to do all the directories
[12:15pm] AutomatedTester: one sec, I have an alias for it
[12:15pm] AaronMT: alias pycclean=’find . -name “*.pyc” | xargs -I {} rm -v “{}”‘
[12:16pm] AutomatedTester: find . -name ‘*.pyc’ -exec rm {} \;
[12:16pm] nhirata_: oooo…
[12:16pm] nhirata_: hotness
[12:26pm] AutomatedTester: see what I mean… it’s so common, why have it published

About shizen008

Breaking things and getting in trouble for it since '74. Disclaimer: I am not responsible if I make your head explode reading this blog! The writings here are my own expression and not of any companies. I currently work on being a QA for B2G aka Firefox OS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

